The Sun Bowls Club was formed in October 1970, although there had been a Bowls Club at the site since 1926 as part of the Sun Works, later the Overseas Trading Company. The original Clubhouse was opened in May 1928 by the Bailiff of Jersey.
Today, the Sun Bowls Club is a popular and thriving bowls club which offers a very warm welcome to all players and visitors, whether local or from further afield.
The green, first laid in 1926, is maintained by club members and is generally regarded as one of the best in the Island. The clubhouse, a listed building, is also maintained by club members and has been developed over the years and now boasts a fully fitted kitchen and, more recently, a club bar.
The Club can boast many successes locally, nationally and internationally. In the 2017 season alone, the Club won three of the four interclub leagues in the Island, won the Island Ladies Fours title, the men’s Island singles title as well as the men’s Champion of Champions. Previous seasons has seen success at British Isles level in both men’s and ladies fours.
The Club runs leagues and knock out competitions, a programme of Sunday competitions, which are open to all members, as well as friendlies against other clubs. There is also the very competitive annual St Brelade’s singles for 7 men and 7 ladies and the St Saviour’s Pairs for 7 mixed teams.
Free parking is available within the club grounds but there is also parking in the adjacent public car park.
We look forward to welcoming all players and visitors during the 2019 season.